While I’ve talked a good bit about this pregnancy here on the blog, I don’t think I’ve every explicitly said that this pregnancy was a huge, gigantic surprise (I mean, I figure that goes without saying when you get pregnant while your baby is seven months old, but still, surprise). So, I thought I would share how we found out about our super surprise baby, since it was a pretty crazy few days in our lives.

To start with, I never had a cycle while pumping; my cycle started again right at the beginning of January (one day into my first Whole30, which I do not recommend). So, when February 1st rolled around with no cycle, I wasn’t terribly worried. “It takes awhile for these things to get back to normal,” I told myself, “I feel like it will start any day now,” I thought, and I continued with my life, never suspecting a thing. I bought some new, tight, skinny jeans for my post-Whole30 body.

Fast-forward to Feb. 6th – still nothing. Meanwhile, I’ve been sick for a week, so I go to the doctor who prescribes an antibiotic (and eye drops because I also managed to magically get PINK EYE when neither of my children, who I took with me to the doctor, had pink eye). While at the pharmacy picking up my prescription I figure I might as well buy a pregnancy test just to confirm I’m not pregnant so I can happily take my antibiotics with peace of mind. Because, surely, I am not pregnant.So, we can all imagine my surprise when my supposed to be negative pregnancy test turns out to be very, very darkly positive.

So I did what any rational woman would do when faced with a positive pregnancy test, a sleeping eight-month old, and a three year old watching TV. I freaked out. I called my husband and said, “WHAT ARE WE GOING TO DO!?” “We aren’t doing anything,” he said. “That’s not what I meant! I meant, what am I doing to DO?” And we both freaked out a lot; I needed to talk to someone who wouldn’t freak out, so I asked him if I could call my mom.  Blessedly, she did not freak out.

And, the next day, my husband lost his job.

Of course, we know that this story has a happy ending. My husband received several job offers, selected one, and started before February was even over. And our baby is healthy, growing well, and is a girl, which was statistically unlikely. And we are excited for her arrival!

I never would have planned this. And, while I know plenty of people have unexpected pregnancies, I declared a few months before this that I would never experience one because my husband was “too cautious and terrified of that happening.” I’m pretty sure I was on God’s Comedy Channel with that one. Its been an interesting time to be sure, but its been one that’s brought me a new life verse (at least for this season of my life): Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but the Lord’s purpose that prevails. -Proverbs 19:21

