I am seriously falling behind here. I know these aren’t super exciting posts and I’m tempted to give them up, but I really do enjoy looking back on them and comparing my pregnancies.

Looking chubby before making it to the gym.

Looking chubby before making it to the gym.

How Far Along: 20 weeks

Size of Baby: Baby is the size of a mango – about 6 or 7 inches long and weighing in at about 10 ounces.

Gender: Pretty much confirmed that this baby is a girl. Should be “officially” confirmed at my anatomy scan on Monday.

Weight Gain: 7.5 pounds. This is about two pounds under where I was with Nathan, and since I started this pregnancy about 5 pounds heavier, I’m reasonably pleased with that, I guess.

Symptoms: Nothing really comes to mind (besides ordinary tiredness and drinking crazy amounts of water).

Exercise: Doing better with this! We went for a 2+ mile walk yesterday; it took us forever (C walked some, stopped to watch people fishing, bathroom stop, etc.) but I’m encouraged to try to get more exercise in more frequently.

Clothes: All maternity. The medium clothes that I was so sure I would need soon are still a little big – I still wear them, but man is it nice to put something on and think “this looks a little baggy.”

Cravings/Aversions: Onion rings. We live sort of near a Hardees, and that is ALL I can think about every time we drive by. Yuuuuuuum. Strangely, cooked carrots are on my hate list. I adored them last pregnancy, and while they don’t taste bad, I don’t like them at all this time around.

Movement: Gaining frequency, but I can still go quite awhile without feeling anything.

Worries: That this baby will magically turn into a boy; I’ve been looking at girl clothes and man oh man, how fun! I would still be very, very happy to have a boy, but I’m kind of locked into the girl-thing now, and that would be a big adjustment. General worry about having three kids – I read some things about having two under two, and one of them put a lot of emphasis on keeping your older child safe while you care for baby. Umm, I have a hard enough time keeping Nathan from flinging himself off the sofa or falling off of something as it is. What am I going to do with another baby in the mix!?

Milestones: Halfway to meeting this baby! Also, if baby is a girl, her uterus is currently fully formed and her ovaries contain eggs!

Best Moment This Week: I was a training ultrasound for a local crisis pregnancy center, where I friend of mine works. I got to see this baby, which is always fun, but we also got to look for identifiers for gender. Although they can’t tell you gender there (they aren’t allowed to do anything diagnostic), my friend said, “I can’t officially tell you what it is, but I don’t see any boy parts.”

 

