I wrote this forever ago…and never published it.  Whoops.

IMG_4500

How Far Along: 16 weeks

Size of Baby: About the size of an avocado.

Gender: I still think girl, and the ultra-sound tech at my doctor’s office agreed at my 12 week scan. Apparently she is only wrong this early a few times each year. We’ll know if this was one of those times soon!

Weight Gain: Between 3.5 and 4 pounds. Not bad, but I was hoping to stay a little lower for a while. I need to do a better job making good, reasonable food choices.

Symptoms: My headaches have mostly gone away since I added allergy meds and an iron supplement to my daily routine. Other than that, just a nagging backache.

Exercise: Other than carrying and running after my kids? None. School wraps up in the next couple of weeks, so I’m hopeful that will make it easier to find a good time to get to the gym. I think exercise and stretching will really help with my back pain AND my weight gain.

Clothes: I have fully embraced maternity clothes, with the exception of a fabulous non-maternity dress I got from LOFT. It’s stretchy and super comfy, and I think I’ll be able to wear it for quite awhile longer.

Cravings/Aversions: I just want sweets. That’s not highly unusual for me, but I’m having a harder time not giving in to that desire.

Movement: I think I’ve felt some, starting at about 12 weeks. It can been several days or weeks between thinking I can feel movement.

Worries: Since I just heard the heartbeat yesterday, I’m feeling good about this today! Mostly I worry about how I’m going to handle three kids, which two so close in age and a high maintenance older child.

Milestones: Baby’s facial muscles are developing and he can make some expressive faces!

Best Moment This Week: Scheduling our 20 week ultrasound and knowing my husband will actually be able to go – only the second appointment this pregnancy he will be able to come to!

