Nathan’s first month has flown by! He is the most wonderful addition to our family; laid back, not much phases him, apart from the occasional head-butts from his older brother.

At one month, Nathan is all-around bigger than Colton was at this age. He weighed in at 9 pounds, 8 ounces, was 21.5 inches long, and had 15 inch head. These measurements keep him right around the 50th percentile for your age – I wonder if he’ll be a big boy like my brother was!

DSC02725

Nathan’s hair looked jet black when he was born. It’s still dark, but it has lightened up since then. I doubt he’ll be a red-head like his brother though, brown hair is looking more likely. His eyes are still blue, and I can’t for the life of me remember when babies’ eyes change color. I’m just so curious as to what he’ll look like as he gets older!

For the most part of his first month, Nathan slept in his swing, bouncy seat, or in someone’s arms. Crib sleeping never lasted more than 20 minutes. However, right after his one-month appointment, I started trying him in his bassinet and crib more often, and he now takes most of his naps there, and has even had a few shorter stretches of nighttime sleep there (I move him back to his swing if he gets restless so he’ll sleep a little longer). He’s not really a fan of falling asleep in his bed, though it has happened twice!

Nathan started “talking” and cooing this month, as all babies do, and it has been so much fun. I love talking to him, asking him questions and hearing him respond. He’s also smiled some, and while I’m sure they’re due to gas and not because of his overwhelming love for me, they are still adorable and wonderful.

Nathan is such a joy and I am so looking forward to seeing how he grows and changes each month!

