Dear Colton,

Now you are three! The past three years have been a wonderful adventure watching you grow, seeing your personality develop, and learning to parent you. You have brought so much joy to our lives!

IMG_0085If I had to describe you in a few words, they’d be: fun-loving, sweet, stubborn, silly and energetic. You love to laugh and make others laugh too. Your teachers said you would never sit in your seat during lunch time because you were too busy trying to entertain your friends. I could never drop you off at school or church without giving you a hug and a kiss, and you had to give me one too. Some of my favorite moments with you this year came right before nap-time. I would always say some variation of “I love you! You’re my sweet/special boy!” before turning out your light, and you would say, “no Mommy, you’re my sweet girl!”

Colton gave me a heart necklace for Christmas that says "I Love Mommy." His Daddy took him to pick it out, but he chose the heart and told him what he wanted engraved on it. He was so excited and proud to give it to me. Sweet boy!

Colton gave me a heart necklace for Christmas that says “I Love Mommy.” His Daddy took him to pick it out, but he chose the heart and told him what he wanted engraved on it. He was so excited and proud to give it to me. Sweet boy!

Your zest for life is contagious and overflowing. If you are awake, you like to be playing, exploring, or running. Never before have I seen so much joy in looking for worms, jumping off a tree stump, collecting interesting sticks and rocks, or just simply running down the road.

DSC02101This past year you have especially enjoyed learning about machines and dinosaurs, thanks in large part to the TV shows Mighty Machines and Dinosaur Train. You know so much more about machines than I do! I am forever getting a bulldozer and front loader mixed up, and you are quick to correct me. Not only do you know what they look like, but you also know the different jobs they do, which forever amazes me. I loved seeing you expand your play with trains as you started to play Dinosaur Train with them, and Night and Morning Train, loosely derived from the show. You identified with one of the characters, Don Pteranodon (who is so your dinosaur equivalent), and love pretending to be him, make his signature noise, and sleep in a nest. Thanks to you, I now make a mean Pterandodn squawk!IMG_0291

You recently listed the things you like for me. They are: machines, cars, trains, trucks, planes, helicopters, puppies, kitties, doggies, horses, porcupines, ducklings, dolphins, and probably more. I was trying so hard not to laugh when you got to porcupines that I had a hard time listening to the rest of the things you like.

DSC02140Just before you turned three you became a big brother. I was worried about how you would initially do with this transition, but you have surprised me with how much you love your brother. Of course, you have had your moments of learning how to be gentle, but it is so sweet to see you try to get him to take his paci to calm down or bring him toys to “play” with.

I love you buddy, and can’t wait to see what the next year brings us.

