Noodle’s nursery is not yet finished, but we’ve made enough progress on it (and we’re close enough to having a baby) that I thought it was time to show you how it’s coming together.

This room used to be our bedroom until we moved upstairs. The previous paint color was a dark gray-blue, which I really liked for our room, but seemed far too dark for a nursery that I really wanted to have a fun, happy, light vibe.

I knew I still wanted a gray for the walls, just much lighter. After much discussion and some third-party opinions, we went with Benjamin Moore’s Gray Owl, color matched at Home Depot.

.

This was the image that gave me an idea of the general feeling I wanted for the room, but until Sarah told me I needed red buffalo check, I had no real idea where I was going to go for this space.

IMG_1270
The red buffalo check lead me to the gray and white star sheeting and a white and navy crib bumper, both via Pottery Barn kids. I really wasn’t excited about Pottery Barn Kid’s pricing, but once I had the image of all three together in my mind, I had to have it. I stalked eBay for months, but never found what I was looking for that was in good shape, the precise color I wanted, a reasonable price, or didn’t come with a bunch of other things I didn’t want. I was lucky enough to catch the bumper on sale and get free shipping on it and the crib sheets (I ordered two so I would have a back-up).

DSC02421They work together fabulously, and I’m so glad we had saved for this baby and were able to purchase them. The chevron blanket has a minky back and is from this etsy shop. She’s on vacation now, and was when I purchased this, but I just convo-ed her and she sent it out to me quickly.

DSC02413I also made this mobile for the room. Well, I made the felt balls and Sarah and Caroline assembled and hung everything. I love the color it adds, and its totally baby approved!

IMG_1250I would, however, like to add a large letter (I’m thinking a paper mache one from Joann’s) over the crib, once Noodle arrives and we settle on his name.

DSC02410I think a large, red letter between the top of the crib and the mobile would give this wall the pop it needs. Plus, if its cardboard, it will be totally safe for above the crib.

DSC02412Sarah and Caroline also sewed these fabulous curtains with red star fabric Sarah hunted down for me. They need to be hemmed, but I’m in love. The rug is from overstock, and we happily already had three red children’s chairs, so one just made its way to this room and fits perfectly under the window (not sure if it will stay here or not).

DSC02417We found a great dresser at a local consignment shop to hold all of Noodle’s hand-me-downs. It is a little smaller than Colton’s, but has the same drawer set-up, which I really like. I also like the more classic styling of this dresser; I can see it working in lots of other rooms if the boys end up bunking together in the future.

DSC02416I convinced my somewhat unwilling husband to hang photos above the dresser (he objected on the grounds that C stands and bangs on his dresser now, but he’s two, so I figure we’ll worry about this when we get there). He did hang them, but a little higher than I requested; ah well, compromise is a great thing!. DSC02419We hung our brother art work, which I adore, first. The top left frame has a fun animal alphabet print I found via Pinterest. The bottom left frame is scripture from Jeremiah. I really liked the verse and found it already written out in colors that worked perfectly in the room. The two bottom middle frames are empty, but I plan on putting Noodle’s footprints or handprint in the top frame and one of the maternity photos Caroline took for me in the bottom frame (it is white, but has a yellow border, which I think will look fab with her photos). The top right frame will have a Dr. Seuss quote, and the bottom right frame has a picture of a sweet, sleeping fox that I found for free back when I was looking for things for Colton’s room.

DSC02420The changing pad cover came from IvieBaby. It popped up during a flash sale they had recently, and I love it. I love all of the bedding in her store, but it was out of our price range. If its in your budget, I highly recommend her shop – the sewing on this is impeccable and it is perfectly contoured for our changing pad.

DSC02423This area, to the right of the crib, needs the most work (seriously, how sad is this photo!?). The rocking chair was my great-aunts and was also in C’s room. The quilt was mine as a baby, and as much as I love it, it doesn’t work as well over here as I wanted. I’m planning on making pillow covers in both the star and buffalo check fabrics, so that might help tie it in better. The table is the perfect height, but a little unsteady for two boys running around, I think. I’m hunting for something better (I’d love a piano stool, but then I’d need some way to fix it at one height, so that might not work either), but in the meantime, this will work.

Barnum lampThe lamp is also a placeholder; my parents have a lamp made from a Barnum’s Animal Cracker tin. The shade may need to be replaced, but I’m really excited to get this in the space.

My husband is building three forward facing bookshelves for me, but they probably won’t be finished until after the baby is born. They’ll look like these, but beefier and longer and white (seriously, the one he finished is so heavy I question how on earth it can be hung; once it is, I could probably do chin-ups on it). My dad is also going to paint a picture for the room, which I think will look nice on this wall as well. The one he did for Colton is about two feet framed, so I think it will work scale-wise on this wall.

While it isn’t quite finished yet, I love this room. Frankly, I think that’s a miracle, since when Sarah and Caroline were here a few weeks ago, I kept saying I had no idea what I wanted in the room. Hopefully it won’t take forever for us to get everything in order after our boy is here!

