Potty training sooo did not happen. The first three days were good and encouraging, but towards the end of day three things started to go downhill. And then they went downhill in a huge way. Basically, my child has an iron will and decided that he simply did not like using the potty, so he wasn’t going to. I won’t go into specifics, but it got so bad I decided he could go back to diapers. There have been a few consequences of not being a big boy and wearing diapers (namely, no taking a toy to bed) because his was a willful refusal to use the potty rather than an ability issue, but I think we’re all happier and less stressed for it.

20130412-075446.jpg

We just recently traded my trusty RAV for a new set of wheels, a mini-van. We’ve been looking for a Sienna (chosen for its good safety rating and my general love for my RAV) since December, and finally found one that had everything we needed, plus some bonus features, within our budget at a dealership less than five minutes from our house. Colton loves the van (and I better call it a van and not a car) and I am loving the automatic sliding doors and trunk.

A friend of mine had her baby yesterday! I ended up watching her daughter while she went to her regular appointment. When she got sent to Labor and Delivery, I took her daughter with me to school to pick up C and her brother (thankfully they go to the same school!). Since I didn’t have car seats for them all, we walked to the cupcake shop across from school to celebrate the new baby’s birthday. We got a candle and everything, and had only just sat down when they started singing Happy Birthday. They just could not contain their excitement and it was really one of the most precious things I’ve seen.

Stocking the freezer has been going well. I have most of the major things on my list crossed off, so all that’s left is to make meatballs, taco bread, and two more batches of baked oatmeal. Of course, should time allow, I’ve found a few more things I’d like to make, but even if I don’t get to the remaining things on my list, I feel good about the amount and variety of meals I have already frozen.

20130412-075941.jpg

It is finally warm here, and we enjoyed an after dinner walk as a family recently. Colton loved running everywhere, finding a stick, holding my hand, and generally getting sweaty. It was a short walk, and I was hot, pregnant and still sick, but I am so glad I sucked it up and we spent time outside as a family.

Despite being of an iron will, Colton is sometimes disgustingly adorable. Since my husband was out of town for a couple of days this week, I took him to Chick-fil-a for dinner one night. At one point he stood behind me in the booth, arms around my neck, head on my shoulder, “whisper-singing” so the whole restaurant could hear, “I love you very much! I love you very much! I love you very, very much! How I wonder what you are. I love you very much!” Can we just skip the tantrums and live in that moment for forever?

