Colton had a fantastic first day of school. Though he doesn’t look happy in the picture (he does not like me taking his picture these days), he was thrilled to go to school and play with all their toys. Daddy met us at school and walked him into his room with me. He also helped me carry all the bags of school supplies we still needed to drop off.

His tiny backpack looks so huge on him!

We visited his class last week, which I think made a big difference in how his drop-off went. He walked right in the room, found a giant Lightening McQueen car, and never paid us another bit of attention. So, I put his extra clothes in his cubby, hung up his lunch bag, handed over his snack, and walked out.

When I came to pick him up, he was the only kid left. As son as he saw me, he said, “no, no, no Mommy! Don’t get me! Leave me at my school class.” I told him we would come back, and he was pretty happy to leave then. All the way home he told me he wanted to go back to his school time to see his new friends. He didn’t remember any of their names and kept asking me to tell him their names, which I don’t know yet either. Hopefully the love of school time will continue for a long, long time.

I had a pretty good, and uneventful day back at work. I’m essentially doing the same job I had before Colton was born, but with the fraction of the hours, so hopefully there won’t be much of an adjustment period or learning curve as I get back in the groove. Mostly today was cleaning my office (back in the same one!) and getting all the papers, forms, and other things organized to make life easier as we move into more projects. Since we’re in a transition period, it doesn’t seem like there will be a lot of events and things to plan, so hopefully the workload won’t be too crazy? I think I’ll need a couple of weeks to really feel like I have a job again, and it will be a couple of weeks before the changes make an impact at home, but today was a great day, and I’ll take it!

