During our last freezer cooking session, my friend Meg made salsa to use in our Mexican Chicken and Black Bean Filling. We’d made this before and really enjoyed it, so I was shocked to find it even tastier the second go-round. Since the only thing we changed was the salsa we used, I figured that had to be what made the meal so tasty. Of course, I quickly asked for her recipe! She says its very easy to make, cheap, and great tasting. Her husband, who she calls a “salsa snob” loves it, which is a good recommendation for me!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can Mexican stewed tomatoes (Del Monte)
  • 3 cans Rotel tomatoes (I use 2 original, 1 hot)
  • 1 T. Cilantro
  • 3 tsp. Cumin
  • A few squirts of lime juice

Place Mexican stewed tomatoes in blender; blend until they reach the consistency you like (doesn’t take long!).  Pour into large container or bowl, then blend all the other ingredients in blender (this really doesn’t take long because Rotels are already in little cubes).  Combine with Mexican tomatoes and stir to blend.  You can make this salsa any consistency you like.

