Last week, we packed up the car and took Colton on his first trip to the state of my birth* on a whirlwind trip. Hubby had a Saturday conference in Atlanta, which is about an 8 hour drive from our house. Since he had already been out of town for two days earlier in the week, we decided we would all go on the quick, three-day, mostly driving trip.

I am so very glad we did this because we got to do things we would never do at home, and we really got to spend a TON more time with Hubby than we would have otherwise, but 16+ hours in the car with a 14 month old in three days is tough.

Saturday we had breakfast with Hubby and then sent him off to his conference. Colton and I then headed downtown to the Georgia Aquarium.

I was super nervous about this, since I never drive in big cities, or even in the “downtown” area of our small town. Let me brag for a moment and say I firmly conquered Atlanta’s roads. We made it to the aquarium and back without incident.

Colton loved talking to the fish.

And barking at this otter.

I very much enjoyed watching the beluga whales and seeing the giant nurse sharks. Colton seemed to be highly underwhelmed by both of them. However, we both enjoyed the penguins and crawling through the tunnel into the “penguin viewing tubes.”

Colton also enjoyed a short nap with his fish friends.

The Georgia Aquarium was a great place for me to take Colton by myself. While it did get quite crowded after lunch and the food court was a bit hard to navigate as a solo parent with stroller, it was otherwise super family friendly. All of the employees were kind and helpful, everything was stroller accessible except for one exhibit, which offered stroller parking (complete with parking attendants!), and lots of changing tables in the bathrooms. The best part for a solo mom – a changing table in the handicapped bathroom! There was enough room to roll the stroller in so Colton was contained until I was ready to change him.

After Hubby’s conference ended, we headed to Piedmont Park. It was a little strange to park in a parking garage to go outside, but we had a great time.

Colton loved watching the ducks!

Daddy and Colton really loved this fast slide.

We didn’t stay too long, because we had big plans to visit the birth place of Chick-fil-a, Dwarf House.

Half of the Dwarf House now functions like a regular Chick-fil-a, but the other half functions as a full-service diner. And it has an expanded menu. If you ever get the chance to go there – get the sweet potato souffle. That is totally going on my “last meal” list.

Colton's favorite part was his new stuffed cow.

Colton’s favorite part of our trip, by far, was our visit to the Atlanta Children’s Museum, across the street from the Aquarium.

They had TWO giant car and train tables.

And pretend gardening.

"Underground" tunnels.

And a giant wall for painting.

And lots and lots of water to play in. Colton was sad it was not for swimming though.

A fun net to play with in the tree house.

And one cool balance beam.

We also paid a whirlwind visit to IKEA Friday night. I only have three pictures of the whole experience, because it was late and we had a cranky baby. IKEA was incredibly family friendly, and I had a great time looking at all their stuff. However, I think if I’m ever going to shop their again, I need to have done a TON of research on their website prior, or plan to spend about two days there. By the way, mine and Hubby’s favorite parts were the “small houses” and Colton’s were the little play stands they had throughout the store.

*While Georgia is the state of my birth, it was not the state my parents were living in at the time of my birth, or the place I went home to after my birth.

