The big news from this past month is that Colton is walking! At my friend’s wedding at the end of the month, he walked in a giant circle and then in a line a good ways into the reception room. And that was the first time he walked. And then he didn’t walk for another week. Now, he pretty much walks all the time. He still can’t get up without pulling up, but I’m sure he’ll get there soon.

Colton loves drinking out of my water bottle, so much so that I’m starting to only carry mine when we’re going to be out together. The upside is that his insane desire for my water only caused him to learn to sign water and please. Sadly, he has forgone most of his other signs in favor of these two. He can bark like a dog, say car and hi, and roar like a dinosaur.

I asked him to smile; he said "aaaaaaaaaaah" and did this.

Right now, Colton’s dream seems to be to be big. We play fairly often with his friend Jenna, who is close in age to him, but Colton much prefers following her big brother Trevor around. If a big boy is doing something, Colton wants to be part of it. I’ve tried teaching him to play “I’m gonna get you,” but he runs towards me rather than away from me, so he’s got a bit to learn before he’s ready to play with the big guys.

He wears a size 4 shoe, clothing sized 12 months or 12 to 18 months and wears a size 3 diaper. He eats three meals a day, plus at least two snacks, and eats most everything we eat. Favorite foods include raisins, cheese, graham crackers and Pirates Booty. He still gets one bottle a day, before bed. Speaking of which, he goes to bed around 7 and usually wakes up around 6:30. One nap a day seems to be the way to go, but figuring out what time is best for him to go down. All in all, sleeping is much better than it was last month.

Walking has made such a huge difference in how old Colton seems – he’s now an official “big boy!”

