My husband always teases me that when I get old, I’ll be a crotchety old person.

And it’s probably true. To be honest, I like the idea of being crotchety. I’d go ahead and be crotchety now, but young people can’t pull it off or get away with it quite like someone older can.

But, if I’m not going to be crotchety, I know what I want to be like. Or rather, who I’d like to be like.

I met Peggy in the fall of last year when I started going to Community Bible Study at a local church. She was in my Core Group, and when we walked to our groups, I overheard some women who had been in CBS before say how excited they were she was in our group.

At first, I didn’t understand. She was a sweet older lady, her white hair styled in the same short, poofy style my grandmother wears, but she never really said much in our discussions. Until, I realized, every time she opened her mouth, she had something to say, and that something was always either scripture, or inspired by scripture.

Then, she volunteered to help me set up for our Christmas brunch. It ended up being just the two of us (and the baby), and while that stressed me out, she just smiled and talked about how wonderful it would be for us to spend time together. And man did she work! She rolled tables, carried chairs, and then told me she was sorry she couldn’t work more. And after the brunch, she immediately set to work, taking down tables, putting back chairs, and we had to tell her to stop. How many 70 to 80 year old women would do that and do it with great joy?

Today, Peggy answered a question from our study, quoting two passages. Someone said how wonderful it was to have her always remind us of scripture. Immediately, Peggy smiled and said, “but y’all just phrase your answers so wonderfully! I just can’t say what I mean as well as y’all can! And I hope I don’t quote scripture too much.” Oh Peggy, we all immediately start writing every time you quote scripture.

I want to be like Peggy. I want to have scripture hidden in my heart, and share it with humility. I want to serve with true joy. I want this verse to be the theme of my life:

I will be your God throughout your lifetime—
until your hair is white with age.
I made you, and I will care for you.
I will carry you along and save you.

Isaiah 46:4

