These pictures are me, 11 days postpartum.

So far, I’m pretty happy with my body’s ability to bounce-back after giving birth.

My second day home, I weighed myself, and wasn’t too happy with what I had lost, but I have seen a decrease in weight each day, and what seems to be a decrease in my stomach size each day as well.

In fact, you could tell a difference in my face immediatly after I gave birth.

Getting my IV in after being admitted.
Moments after Colton was born.

I think you can already see a difference in my face size, especially in the cheeks.

Right now, I’m in the high 130’s weight-wise. My goal is to be at 130, sans clothes, by my 6 week postpartum appointment. I figure I weighed right around 125 before I got pregnant (possibly less, but we’ll go with 125), and 5 pounds seems like it’s totally do-able.

So getting back to pre-pregnancy weight seems like it will happen, but I am concerned I won’t get back to my pre-pregnancy shape. I put on a pair of size 10 pants (I used to wear size 4), and while I could get them on and buttoned, they made a muffin top and were tight in my hip and thigh. My thighs do tend to gain more weight than any other part of my body, so I wasn’t surprised, but really? Do I need larger hips than what I already had? Hopefully that will all return to something close to what I had before.

But really, I am over the moon with where I am now physically, especially considering my body expelled another human being only 11 days ago! I do have concerns about what my body will return to, but even if I don’t get my defined abs pre-pregnancy body back, I think I’ll be happy. After all, this face is totally worth it.

