It’s finished!


This was the first room in our house I’ve gotten to decorate as a blank slate and I love everything about it!

When we found out we were having a boy, we started looking for bedding,and the spaceship bedding was the only thing we could find that Hubby and I agreed on. After that, I made a plan with that as our starting point.

Much of that original plan stayed, with a few adjustments. We ended up using a full-sized dresser as a changing table, and that necessitated a switch in room placement with the crib. We also originally planed to purchase a bookshelf from IKEA for the room, but when we found both the dresser, mirror and a matching bookcase on sale as floor samples at a local furniture store, we couldn’t pass it up. As an added bonus, the bookcase we ended up with is solid wood and cost just about what it would have to purchase and  have the IKEA bookshelf shipped to us.

The curtains were tough to figure out though, and despite my best efforts, ended up being a bit of a splurge. I had originally looked for an inexpensive, solid navy black-out curtain, but the best I could find were ones from Pottery Barn kids, at $60 per panel, and I didn’t want to spend over $200 for curtains. I ended up purchasing the fabric and black-out lining and paying someone to sew them custom for me. So, even though they were a bit of a splurge, they were worth it to me because I have exactly what I wanted!

I thought we would luck out with a rug from Target, but the none of the rugs that worked in our room (and there were many that would have fit the color scheme) were the right size. I was afraid we were going to have to shell out over 300 bucks for a rug for the room (NOT GOOD), but thanks to overstock.com, we ended up with lots of choices in a Target-comparable price range. I took a leap of faith and went with a themed rug. Initially I didn’t want anything to overly theme-tastic, but I am so glad I went with this rug!

My goals for the room were to create something that would grow with our little guy, to be a place that’s fun, inspiring, doesn’t take itself too seriously, but is also practical. I think the rug really helps set the tone for fun, inspiring and not being too serious. It does, after all, still include Pluto. But, for me, the details make the room. I love the above photo of my dad as a little boy, and several other of the small touches around the room that make it cute and functional.

We are so fortunate that many of the items in the room, including the crib, were gifts. This really helped up keep costs down, and allowed us to splurge on a few items.

Crib: Graco Lauren Covertable Crib in Espresso, from Target

Dresser, Mirror and Bookcase: Floor Samples from local furniture store

Rocker: Belonged to Grandmother

Rug: Overstock.com

Curtains: Fabric from Joann’s, custom sewn

Lamp: Target

Bedding: Dwell Studio for Target

Orange Bins (one for toys and one for blankets): Target

Monster Nightlight: Target

Jungle Taggie Blanket: Made by friend

All Art: either made by myself, my father or family friend or printed from an online resource

Wooden Blocks: mine as a child

Pillow on Rocker: Target

Quilt on Rocker: Made for me prior to my birth

Pound-a-Peg: Melissa and Doug, purchased new at consignment sale

Mobile: Target

