We’ve tried two new recipes recently, both of which were rousing successes!

The first, a chicken and pasta dish, we tried in an attempt to use up more of our CSA spinach. It was so, soo good! It was also super easy and only used one pan and one pot, so clean-up was easy too. As an added bonus, this pasta dish, when made with whole wheat pasta, didn’t cause my blood sugar to go crazy. In fact, it was under 100 when I took it an hour later!

I did make a few adjustments to the recipe, as per some of the reviews. I used canned diced tomatoes with garlic and basil. I made this change for the spice, but I think it also makes the recipe even easier. I used whole wheat pasta and 1/3 less fat cream cheese to help cut back on the calories and carbs a bit. I also cooked my chicken with a little minced garlic, sprinkled the finished product with Italian seasoning, and sprinkled a little mozzarella on mine and Hubby’s bowls. Oh, and of course I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. I’m definitely putting this on our summer meals rotation, especially while we have fresh spinach!

We also made Picky Palate’s Smore’s Brownies. These things are soo, soo good and really taste like a smore, only better, if that’s possible. Hubby and I both LOVE smores, but I am an extremely messy smore eater, so these are great for me. Of course, her’s look a lot nicer than mine, namely because I couldn’t wait long enough for them to cool completely. These brownies make me dream of having a camping themed party for the bambino and serving little cupcake sized brownies instead of cake.

If you’re not a fan of smores (seriously!?), you should still check out Picky Palate. There are a TON of tasty looking desserts, and some great looking healthy options too!

I’m planning on making a tasty (hopefully) banana bread today. I only really like green bananas, when the banana is still nice and firm, and I’ve been having a hard time finding them at my new to me grocery store. This week I’ve ended up with three over-ripe for me bananas, which is perfect for this recipe, especially since I have everything else on hand. I hope this is a good one, because it makes two loaves and a couple of the reviewers said they have frozen this with good results. Hopefully I’ll get a loaf to enjoy now and one to freeze and enjoy later when I don’t feel like cooking.

