While I was in the bathroom, leaving my “sample” at my last doctor’s appointment, I heard a commotion in the halls; something about a delivery and hoping he made it. Turns out, my doctor had to run, literally, to deliver a baby. It’s a good thing their offices are in the hospital!

Because he was gone, I had to see one of the other two doctors in the practice. On the one hand, I was excited because there’s a chance one of the other doctors will deliver my baby, and I’d like to see him before he shows up and I’m pushing a baby out. On the other hand, I was not excited to have to see a new doctor on a day I was scheduled for an internal.

No need to worry though – the doc was FABULOUS. He came in and plopped himself down on the stool like he was in a recliner. He put us at ease, and even went over a few things with us our regular doc hasn’t. He felt the baby and said right now he thinks he’s between 6 1/2 and 6 3/4 pounds, and that he’ll be between 7 and 7 1/2 pounds at delivery. Not a bad size I hope!

And the dreaded internal? Not nearly as bad as last time! I was almost dreading it this time, though I really, really wanted to know if I’d made any progress. So, not only was the exam not half bad, neither were the results! I’ve progressed pretty significantly in the past two weeks, and am now 2 to 2 1/2 cm dilated and 50% effaced. Yes! Go uterus! The best part is that I feel pretty normal, haven’t had any Braxton-Hicks or really anything that atypical from anything else that’s gone on this pregnancy. I’m hoping this means I’ll labor like my mom, who didn’t know she was in labor until her water broke. If she passed nothing else on to me genetically, please Lord, let it have been that.

The doc said I may not make it two weeks sans baby, which is really, really freaky. I knew I was getting close, but this is crazy. In less than two weeks we could have a BABY? I mean, I know we’re having a baby, but an actual outside-of-me, sleeping in the bassinet in our room baby? It just seems so hard to believe. In fact, during the internal he said, “I have my fingers on this baby’s head.” I thought “HOLY COW! There really is a baby in there!” Even with the ultra-sounds and feeling movements and everything, it just doesn’t seem quite real. Having someone say they can feel the baby makes it feel real in a way it hasn’t been before.

