Otherwise known as “Jacob’s Back!”

I’m not sure this episode felt like the penultimate LOST episode, but it sure did feel like classic LOST! We’re back to focusing on our original losties, back to humorous one-liners, and back to a character-driven episode.

Of course, as we’ve come to expect lately, we lost another group of characters. Widmore and his right-hand woman, Zoe, both died last night. Zoe, killed by Flocke, and Widmore killed by Ben. I think Richard died too, since the Smoke Monster grabbed him, but it was hard to tell. Richard’s possible death is complicated by the whole “Richard can’t die” thing. Unless he can die now that Jacob has handed over his island-guarding responsibilities to Jack.

Oh yeah, we all saw that one coming right? Still, I was really hoping Hurley would take the job. No such luck. And those names on the wall? Didn’t really mean anything if they were crossed out. Jacob crossed them out if they were dead, or if he thought their lives were fulfilling enough to not want to be and island guardian, like when Kate became a mother.

Did anyone else find this conversation between Locke and Jack in the sideflashes to be telling?  “After you saved my life, you still want to fix me. And I don’t want to be fixed.” Locke posits that everything, him meeting Jack in the airport, Desmond running him down, etc. happened for a reason – maybe Jack is supposed to fix him. I think this is more than simply alluding to Jack becoming the island’s guardian, but I’m not sure what it refers to. After all, we know Jack’s new life mission is to kill the Monster, who is possessing Locke’s body and that the real Locke is dead, so what does this mean?

Speaking of sideflashes, these seem to be moving rather slowly for the penultimate episode! Most of our losties haven’t a clue about the island or any memories of it yet! To catch us up, I’m thinking we’re going to have a fast-paced finale episode!

And the biggest reveal of the night? Desmond is the fail-safe! There’s something about his resistance to electromagnetic energy that makes Smokey think he can use Desmond to finally destroy the island. I’m not really sure how this works, or why the island can only be destroyed by someone with a resistance to the energy though. Although, we do know that the light is electromagnetic energy, so maybe Smokey’s plan is to send him down the light tunnel, where the energy would turn him into another smoke monster, but won’t be able to because Desmond is resistant to it. The light’s struggle to turn him will ultimately destroy the island. Sounds good to me!

What do you think? Any telling scenes from last night I missed? Have I got Desmond’s importance all wrong?

In closing, here are some of my favorite one-liners:

  • “Dr. Linus, please. You’ve got one hand. You look like Napoleon.” – Alex to Ben
  • “Well then, whisper to me.” – Locke (Not as funny typed out, but the way he said it was great!)
  • “If you can turn yourself into smoke whenever you want, why do you bother walking?” “I like the feel of my feet on the ground. It reminds me that I was human.”

Oh man, what am I going to do with myself after Sunday!?

