In case you missed my news flash, I have gestational diabetes, and was super surprised that I do. But, it is true. So, last Friday, I packed myself up and went to diabetic “boot camp” where I was given my meter, taught how to use it, shown an informational video, and told about good nutrition.

My meter is totally not as scary as I thought it would be, and is very easy to use. I don’t think I’m used to pricking my finger yet. It doesn’t hurt much, but there’s something about having to hold an implement that shoots a needle into your finger, press a button and inflict pain upon yourself that I’m not used to yet. The squeezing my finger for blood, on the other hand, is totally cool with me!

I have been testing primarily on my left pointer, and have a visible series of small holes on the side of my last knuckle. I tried to take a photo, but it didn’t show up too well. I think I may need to alternate fingers more, but for now, this is working for me. And battle wounds are cool right?

It’s very simple to use as well, which I really appreciate. Stick a strip in, the meter turns on and asks for blood. I put the tip of the strip up against my blob of blood, and it sucks it up, and 5 seconds later I have a reading. Once I record what my number was, I pull the strip out, toss it and the meter turns off. Piece of cake!

The video was somewhat informative, but since I had googled and webmd-ed so much, I had already read much of the information. Several different women were shown, sharing their feelings about having gestational diabetes and what they did to help control it. I was glad to see they had a woman who seemed a lot like me who still had gestational diabetes.

Likewise, the nutritional part of the class wasn’t earth-shattering for me, but more of a refresher of things I already knew, and a different way of thinking about what I already knew about eating. Remember that fruit counts as a carb? Yeah, I didn’t. So my fruit-heavy lunches? Not so good.

I also learned that, for the time being, I only need to look at and count carbs. Sugars aren’t important, because they are counted as carbs. The good thing is that I can use my carb allotment for a meal or snack however I want. So Saturday, when I wanted cinnamon buns, I could still have one, because it fit into my carb allotment for breakfast (15-30 grams of carb). This makes things seem totally non-restrictive, which is really nice.

Mostly though, I haven’t had to make too many changes to how I eat. I’ve replaced one of my lunch servings of fruit with a veggie, and have a sandwich with cheese instead of a plain toasted English muffin to get in more protein. My breakfasts, dinners and snacks have stayed pretty much the same. I have to be more scheduled about eating, but in some ways, that makes me feel like I’m eating more, since some of my meals I would previously spread out I now eat in one sitting.

I did find out that my 3 hour test numbers were BAD. As in, my first hour number was almost double what it should be. And it didn’t come down too much by hour three either. Yikes! Luckily, I rarely, if ever, ingest that much sugar during the course of a day, much less in one sitting! The good thing is that I’m not asking my body to process this much sugar, but the bad thing is that when it is asked to, it can’t. My doctor and I are both very pleased with where my numbers have been over the past week. They are so good that he’s said if they remain like this over the next two weeks, he’ll let me test two times a day as opposed to the four times I’m testing now. This is great news not only for my finger, but also in general, because it means everything is well controlled with little effort or diet change on my part.

Honestly, all of this has been much easier than I anticipated. And, I’ve discovered that I think it’s a little cool too! I feel like a walking science experiment, and I find it very interesting to see how different food combos affect my body and my sugar levels. Who would have thought I’d go from devastated about this situation to thinking its kind of cool? Not me!

