I do like to cook, and from scratch too. I make a mean chicken pot pie, all homemade from the broth to the biscuits I top it with, but it can take two days from start to finish.

Not really practical for a working girl.

Plus, I like things that are tasty, but aren’t a lot of work.

Enter my easy, double-crust pot pie. I’ve shared this with Meredith and Erin, but I don’t know if they’ve actually made it yet. If you have ladies, let me know what you thought!

Anyway, this is a quick, easy pot-pie you can make with pantry staples in less than 10 minutes. Here’s what you need:

Refrigerated pie crust, large can of chicken, can of mixed vegetables, can cream of chicken soup, poultry seasoning (or jerk), and pepper. The pepper was hiding for the picture.

Place on pie crust in a pie pan, and mix all other ingredients in a bowl. Be sure to drain the can of veggies, but don’t drain the chicken! I also cut the chicken more in the can to help make it more bite size and distribute more evenly throughout the pot pie. Add 1/4 teaspoon pepper, and 1/4 teaspoon poultry seasoning, or to taste (I’ve found I like more like 1/8 teaspoon of poultry seasoning).

Pour the mixture into the pie crust, top with the second crust, and tuck edges of the second crust under the first. Cut slits in the top crust to vent the pie, and place in a 400 degree oven for 40 to 45 minutes, or until pie is golden brown.

Enjoy!

Do I like my regular pot pie better? Absolutely, but I love how quickly this pot pie comes together, and it really doesn’t taste like it was as easy as it is!

Now, in full discloser, I have to tell you I did not create this recipe. I wish I had, but I didn’t. I learned it at a mentoring group I helped with. I did, however, tweak it a little bit to meet my personal tastes and protein requirement.

