A few days ago, I received an e-mail that wasn’t mean or rude, but it didn’t really make me super happy either. My day had been stressful; Hubby was heading out of town, the dog had apparently hurt her foot but I didn’t know how badly or what I should do about it, I had rushed off to the dentist early that morning and was just generally feeling behind, stressed and “off”. So, I blasted off a quick, mean and rude response to the e-mail, not even thinking about what I was writing or how it might come across to the person reading it.

As soon as I sent it, I realized what I had done and wished I could take it back. Sadly, you can’t back e-mail once its been read. So, I called the person I sent it to and began apologizing, “That’s not what I meant, it doesn’t reflect my feelings about you, I should never have done it and I am so sorry.”

She had every right to be angry and stay angry with me. In her place, I probably would have. Instead, she forgave me almost instantly, saying how highly she thought of me, how much she liked me (after I have insulted her!) and that she would pray my day got better.

Her response was not what I deserved. But, it was what I needed.

And, her extension of grace and mercy to me has taught me a lesson about extending it to others. Maybe the people who have hurt me haven’t come directly to me and asked to be forgiven or told me they were sorry, but I need to extend grace to them just as much as I needed grace in that moment.

22 Through the LORD’s mercies we are not consumed,
      Because His compassions fail not.
       23 They are new every morning;
      Great is Your faithfulness.

— Lamentations 3:22-23

