I’ve been a little frustrated at work lately. Don’t get me wrong, I really, really like my job, but sometimes, working under and for someone is just a little frustrating. I was ready to pull my hair out Tuesday afternoon, when I received an e-mail from my boss.

A little background to this; if you don’t know, I am the Ministry Assistant to the Student Pastor at my church. We have several series planned for Wednesday nights in the coming months, one of which uses Crayola crayons as an illustration, the other of which uses Legos as an illustration. That’s about all I know about these two series.

Enter my e-mail:

Boss: Hey, contact Lego and Crayola and see what they can do for us for our upcoming series. We need to get on this!

Me: Okay, but what do we want? Is this something specific or just a copyright question?

Boss: Call them and find out.

Me (thinking): I can’t really find out what they can do if I don’t know what we need!

Me (thinking some more): Ah! He did mention at one point he wanted a giant crayon, maybe I can find one of those!

I manage to find a giant crayon (sold through Crayola’s Easton, PA store either in person or over the phone only), and get that information. Still nothing on Lego, except I remember he wants some kind of giant sculpture.

Me: What kind of sculpture do we want from Lego?

Boss: I don’t know, just find out what they can do.

Me: It would be good if we had some details to give them when we call, even if its just a few options, because they be able to do some things and not others. The more information we give them, the more they can give us.

Boss: Just call them figure out what they can do then we can figure it out.

Me: Oooookay.

Lego Company Guy: Hi, how are you?

Me: Fine thanks. I’m calling because my boss is planning a new sermon series for our students and wants to use a 4 ½ foot tall Lego sculpture as the illustration. I don’t know what he wants, but do y’all custom make Lego designs?

Lego Company Guy: Hold on one moment, let me see what we would need to do for you in this case.

Me: Okay.

Lego Company Guy: Okay, what you would need to do is go through our Model Donations Request department. That’s an e-mail address, and it takes about 5 business days to hear back. I know that’s a little inconvenient, but right now, that’s the process we currently have set up.

Me: That sounds great – thanks so much for your help!

Me: We have to contact Lego’s Model Donations Request people through e-mail and it will take at least 5 business days to hear back from them.

Boss: Oh, so we need to know what we want before we contact them?

 Me: Yes.

Aaaaah! I could have saved myself an hour of work if he had just listened to me in the first place! My job is to make what he wants happen, and I’m happy to do that, but sometimes I need just a little bit more information than he gives me to make that happen.

