Lately, I have been thinking about how people perceive us vs. the way we perceive ourselves.

Most people have an awkward age that lasts from about 12 to 15 or 16. My awkward age lasted from 12 to 21. It wasn’t until I was a senior in college that I really felt comfortable will who I was. In many ways though, I still feel like that awkward, tomboy, t-shirts and long jeans unsure of herself and uncomfortable in social situations girl. Honestly, I’d still prefer to stay home and watch a movie by myself than be out with a group of people.

But, I have a sneaking suspicion that that’s not how people perceive me. I grew up, got some style, and from the outside seem to be a confidant person who has it all together. In fact, I said something to my Sunday School teacher about my awkward years lasting a really, really long time and she said, “Really!? Not you! I don’t believe that.” Um…okay.

Then I began to wonder if what to be is awkwardness, not talking much in large groups, not introducing myself to new people or talking to those I don’t know well, comes across to others as snoby. I really hope not, but sometimes I worry that I when I’m feeling awkard, other people think I’m being snoby.

What do you think? Do you think the way you think about yourself is the same as the way others think of you? If there’s a difference in those two, do you think it can cause problems?

