Last night was one of the worst nights I’ve had in a while. I’ve had a cough since Saturday which became so persistent and worrying that I felt I had to see a doctor. Good thing I did because I have the beginnings of a lung infection. Fun.

Even though I’m coughing up a lung, I can’t stay home because I have some things that have to get done by the end of the week that can only be done in my office. Hubby’s in D.C. so my pregnant self is fending for myself.

I’m bummed that I need to be an antibiotics, because I really didn’t want to take anything other than my multi-vitamin during my pregnancy. I know I need them to keep this from turning into bronchitis or pneumonia, which would be worse for the baby and need stronger antibiotics to cure, but I’m still disappointed.

But, the crown jewel of my evening occurred when I was ready to settle in on the sofa with a nice, hot bowl of soup to soothe my throat and cough. As I reached for my bowl, I somehow managed to spill half of my soup onto my food and couch. My whole foot was red from the ankle to the start of my toes.

I did what every sensible girl would at this point (after screaming of course), and called my mom. She advised me to soak my foot in the tub for a bit and then ice it and put aloe on. I did that and then iced it again about 30 minutes later and the redness went down significantly, but I still had a few red spots and what looked like the forming of a blister. I aloed again, and I think the aloe saved me from some burns!

Since I spilled my soup, I didn’t really have anything I wanted to eat, which was kind of sad, but I ate what stayed in the bowl and then drowned my sorrows by eating the remaining mint chocolate chip ice cream and whining to you here.

When all’s said and done, ice cream’s not a bad way to end the night.

