Decorating for Christmas this year, I realized I have quite a few nativity scenes. In fact, its possible I have more than any one person could possibly need. At yet, I only purchased one, and I purchased that when I had no nativity scenes, so all of these have been accumulated in the last two years.

This is the first and only nativity scene I’ve purchased. I bought it when we lived in an apartment, so the compact size was perfect.

The white nativity scene was a gift, and the my mom and I made two sets of wise men together one year out of bakeable clay.

This nativity set was a hand-me-down from my grandmother. I love the classic simplicity of the white ceramic and the contrast between it and this black table.

Another small nativity from my grandmother. This makes 4 nativities in one room.

This one is only a partial nativity. My grandmother thought she was giving me three crèche shepherds, but she actually gave me a shepherd and two wise men, a well and assorted sheep. I’m guessing she’ll give me the rest of it when I see her at Christmas.

This is my last nativity, also from my grandmother. This one is metal, and one side has been embossed with more detail than the other, which I think is different. Plus, most nativities are 3-D, while this one is 2-D. Variety is the spice of life, after all.

