I am now 14 weeks pregnant, and definitely in my second trimester! Now, if only I could start feeling those energy surges, I’d be happy.

Being pregnant is different from how I thought it would be. I don’t really know what I really expected, but it’s not really what I’m experiencing. No morning sickness, which I was totally dreading, feeling fat NOT like I have a cute baby belly and only feeling pregnant at an ultrasound were not on my list of things I thought would happen.

That said, there ARE some things I’m really enjoying so far, and even more I’m looking forward to as the baby (presently referred to a Junie) grows.

1. Surprisingly, I am LOVING maternity pants. When I first thought about looking for some, I told Hubby they were scary I could wear dresses for nine months. But they aren’t scary! Now that I’ve outgrown all of my normal pants — fat pants included — I’m adoring the loose, room to grow fit of these pants. Besides, loose makes me feel thinner! My favorite pair right now are Old Navy’s real-waist maternity pants, which probably won’t last my whole pregnancy, but should last a good number of months, and be a great post-pregnancy transition pant.

2. It may not feel like anything’s in there, but since we found out Junie was incubating, Hubby has been asking for “Junie Time” where he sits with his hand on my stomach. When he kisses me goodbye every morning, he also kisses my stomach. Soo stinkin’ cute!

3. I can’t explain what it was like to hear Junie’s heartbeat for the first time, but it was an incredible experience. Each time we go in and hear his/her heartbeat, I think to myself there could be no greater sound in the world.

4. I have an anterior placenta, so it will be a bit longer before I feel the baby move, but I can’t wait for those first “flutters!” I don’t really feel bonded yet to the baby (although I’m very attached to the idea of a baby), and I think that will really make a huge difference in how I’m thinking about my body and this pregnancy.

5. Right now, I am loving the sleep I’m getting. It usually takes me a while to fall asleep once I get settled in bed, but lately, as soon as my head hits the pillow, I’m out! I do get up during the night, and after that its a bit harder to get to sleep, but I always get at least 4 hours of blissful sleep. I know this won’t last, so I am really, really enjoying it now!

And, while there are plenty of things I’m loving now and even more things in the future that excite me, there are just as many things that freak me out about having a child.

1. I already have some stretch marks, so I KNOW I’m going to get those, and that scares me a little, but not nearly as much as loosing control of my body. I worked hard to lose a good bit of weight in college and have continue to work to keep it off. Losing that control is quite a bit intimidating to me (but, not so bad when I get to enjoy a cup of ice cream!).

2. I require at least 8 to 9 hours of sleep to function and be pleasant, so I’m worried about infant induced lack of sleep. I’m hoping my body will magically switch from needing lots of sleep to needing very little, but I’m not so sure that’s going to happen.

3. Parenting a teenager. Is there anything scarier?

4. Someone once told me giving birth is like pulling a school desk (the kind with the chair attached) through your nostril. So yeah, labor is totally intimidating. On the bright side though, women have been doing this since the beginning of time, and medicine has come a long way, so I’m pretty sure I’m going to make it.

5. I am not a fan of people commenting on what I’m eating or telling me I can eat extra dessert because I’m pregnant. If I wouldn’t feed it to my toddler, I don’t want to feed it to my baby in utero. Yes, I might have a piece of cake or some ice cream, but a reasonable amount, balanced with whole grains, dairy, fruits and vegetables. If I don’t eat something on my plate and don’t make a big deal about not liking it, neither should anyone else! I’m probably not eating it because I’m pregnant and don’t want it, but because I don’t like that food, pregnant or not. What I eat is only my business and my doctor’s, thank you very much.

But really, I am totally enjoying this stage of pregnancy! But, I just have to share pictures to illustrate the whole “I just ate too many cookies, I’m not pregnant” look I have going on.

Straight on, nothing. Sideways, a little flab going on. Sideways in the “pregnant pose” I could maybe, just maybe pass for a pregnant lady. I guess I can’t really use my grocery store’s “Stork Parking” yet. And I was really looking forward to that!

