When did you find out?
The day after my Great-Aunt died — Tuesday, November 11th.

How did you tell Hubby?
After I took the test, I tried to call Hubby for 30 minutes straight. I called his cell phone and both work numbers I have for him, one right after the other for 30 minutes. No answer. So, I decided I would surprise him. I ran to Target, grabbed a onesie that said “Mommy and Daddy Love Me”, and left that and the positive test on the seat of his car. He was pretty darn surprised when I found it after work.

Was it planned?
We weren’t using any form of birth control, but I was only having periods every other month. Also, because I have a condition that can cause infertility or difficult in conceiving in many of the women who have it, I thought it would take us over a year, and some help, to get pregnant. I stopped taking BC in May, and ended up pregnant at the end of September, so it didn’t take nearly as long as I thought! So, while we were trying, I guess we were surprised at the timing.

When did you tell your family and friends?
I told my parents and grandparents after our first ultra-sound a week after my positive home test. Hubby told his parents, and I told my aerobics instructor since I was still attending classes. Other than that, we didn’t tell anyone until after our second ultra-sound two weeks later because at our first, they saw some things that could have been serious issues. Thankfully, our second appointment showed the baby is healthy and all of the concerning things they saw had cleared up, so we told the rest of my family at Thanksgiving, Hubby called his brother to tell him, and cleared his parents to tell whomever they wanted. A clean bill of health for baby was our good news from a week ago!

What were their reactions?
Everyone seems very happy for us! Several of my co-workers cried when I told them, which was super sweet.

Will you find out the sex?
Yes. We’re impatient, and we’d like to plan, decorate, and monogram!

What sex would you rather?

Hubby wants a boy, but I don’t really have a preference, though I think having a girl would be fun. Personally, I think its a boy, then I think its a girl, then I think its a boy. Basically, I have no idea.

Do you have names picked out?
Yes and no.  Hubby and I both have names we like — I want to name my first child after my grandfathers, which works if the baby is a girl or a boy. Hubby has two different names he’s liked since high school because he “thought the initials were cool.” His girl name I don’t have a problem with (I actually really like it if we change the spelling a bit), but I’m not a fan of the boy name, or his reason for liking it. Fortunately for me, one of his good friends just had a boy and used that name! We’ve thought more about names and we may have found a first name for a boy we both like, but other than that, no real progress on the name front.

How are you feeling?

Surprisingly normal. I feel tired, but other than that, I feel good. I feel so good in fact, that at the first appointment I half-expected there to be no baby. No morning sickness, no real aversions (I didn’t want Chick-fil-A for about two weeks, but that was it), so I’ve been pleasantly surprised.

Due Date?
June 18th.

Which means you’re how far along?
The baby measured 12 weeks, 5 days at my last appointment, Tuesday, which means I am 13 weeks 1 day (see ya, first trimester!). At our first appointment though, the baby measured 9 weeks 3 days, which means I wouldn’t be 13 weeks until tomorrow. I don’t really know, but I know I’m pretty much 13 weeks, so that’s what I’m going with.

Cravings?
I really wanted baked potatoes for a while,  I had a serious need for Sour Patch Kids for about a week, and one night I just had to have Party Cake ice cream.

Aversions?
Two weeks where I didn’t even want to think about Chick-fil-A, but that’s been about it.

Weight Gain?

I’m not sure what my starting weight was, but I’m guesstimating 2 pounds. From my first appointment to my most recent (about 3 weeks), I only gained a pound, and that was over Thanksgiving!

How are you decorating the nursery?
No idea! I know they’ll be beadboard, but that’s all. Once we find out the gender, I think we’ll formulate a plan.

