Dare to DIY

This week, Kim at Newly Woodwards challenged us to make homemade Christmas gifts! Two years ago, I gave small pillows I needle pointed to my grandmother and mother-in-law. This Christmas, I’m working on a much larger pillow for my grandmother.


I really enjoy needle pointing, as it gives me a creative outlet, but still has some guidelines for me as well. I’m excited to get better at it, because I’ve seen some really awesome homemade needle point  pillows (my favorite I’ve seen are silhouetted pillows).


I also love giving homemade gifts to my grandmother because she seriously thinks I’m fantastic when I do. Two years ago when I gave her the small pillow, she exclaimed, “Mary-Carolyn! You made this!? Yourself!? You really can do just anything!” And she meant it. Grandma’s are great.


In all honesty, I probably won’t finish this in time for Christmas. Lucky for me though, my grandma’s birthday is in late January, so I’ll probably have it finished by then.

This Christmas, I also plan to make hot chocolate mixes for my in-laws. I was going to make them this weekend, but it snowed here, and Hubby doesn’t let me drive in the snow. Actually, I don’t know how to drive in the snow, because Hubby wouldn’t teach me, but he doesn’t like to drive me anywhere in the snow either. So, I’m missing the mason jars I need for my gifts, but if I had made them this weekend, I would have used this recipe:

Hot Chocolate Mix

1 package dry milk

1 package Mestle Quick

1 6 oz container Coffee Mate

1 cup powdered sugar

Mix all together and store in an air tight container. Use 1/3 to 1/2 cup mix per cup of boiling water.

Happy Homemade Christmas!

