Dare to DIY

This week’s Dare to DIY challenge at Newly Woodwards was to bake cookies! Yes! Hands down, the best challenge for me — I love cookies!

The only problem is, I like too many cookies! Sugar cookies are my all-time favorites, but I also can’t resist anything with chocolate, and Hubby is a big fan of mint. So what to do?

Make sugar cookies covered chocolate grasshoppers!

Now, my favorite thing to do is to find a way to do something that’s a whole lot easier than it seems, and I think these cookies fit the bill. Here’s what you need:

Yes, that’s all you need for friends to ask in amazment, “but how did you get the chocolate in there!?”

Here’s what you do:

Slice off a thin-ish (about 1/4 of an inch) slice of cookie dough, place on baking sheet, and put a grasshoper cookie on top of that.

Then cut another thin-ish slice of cookie dough, and place on top of cookie. There is no real need to pat the cookie down or worry about the sugar cookie covering the chocolate cookie entierly, because the sugar cookie will expand as it cooks, but the chocolate cookie is already cooked.

One of the things I realized after the fact that would have made these cookies more refined would be to trim the edges around the cookie. A simple round cookie cutter or biscuit cutter would have trimmed the cookie down and made more cookies!

Bake these in a 350 degree oven for about 13-15 minutes, or until golden brown. Allow to cool, and enjoy!

Yum!

