…or just set the table.
Dare to DIY
I’m participating in Kim‘s Do it Yourself blog party for the holidays! You might not know it because I missed last week, but this week I was ready to set my table for Thanksgiving! This year we’re going to visit my family for the holidays, so we won’t be home and we aren’t having any pre or post Thanksgiving festivities at our house. Since it will just be Hubby and I for a few short days, I wanted to keep the table simple, something that would be condusive to casual breakfasts and dinners, and somethign that could be morphed pretty easily into Christmas decore.

I wanted something with fall colors, layered, and somewhat rustic.

My inpiration, focus, and pretty much the only thing I did was with pinecones.

I collected these last Christmas, and was waiting for some reason to use them. I love them as a centerpiece!

To make sure my pinecones were bug-free (because no one wants creepy-crawlies in their food!), I baked them for 45 minutes in a 200 degree oven. This also helped the pinecones to open up a little bit.

Now, my table isn’t anything to get excited about, but I love the colors and the simplicty works with my holiday plans. I’m excited to see the other great tables, and even more thrilled about sharing my favorite holiday cookie next week! But how will I choose?

