Cmas05_02

Aunt Margaret (in the back), with her long-time roommate, Sister.

I called my Mom last night, just to chat, but mostly just to talk to my dad about the latest Clemson game. Instead, when I asked what was up, my mom said, “Weeeeeeell…” and I knew something was up. She told me my grandmother had called earlier to tell her my great-aunt was embarking on “a great journey to heaven.” While her two sisters and sister-in-law were visiting, she fell asleep and didn’t wake up. She had Lewy Body Dementia, and hadn’t been doing well for a while, so this wasn’t wholey unexpected, but I’m still suprised it happened now. We were all looking forward to seeing her at Thanksgiving!

We don’t know what the arrangements will be yet, and because my aunt has power of attorney for her (Aunt Margaret never married and never had any children), it will probably take a few days for the arrangements to get worked out. I’m expecting a Saturday afternoon funeral, mostly because a good number of my cousins are in college, and a Saturday will work best for them.

This Thanksgiving, I’m thankful for my family members, the great memories I have of them, and the time I get to spend with them.

