I’m in a rut.

A blogging rut, a reading rut, a life in general rut.

I’m slowly coming out of my rut, as evidenced by my return to ye old blog, but I’m not there yet.

I feel discouraged because I feel like my life is moving too fast for me to keep up, much less stop and enjoy it. It’s a wierd feeling, because I do like and feel content with where I am in my life right now, but things that are out of my control are going too fast!

I’m keeping up with the “things that matter,” work, pre-arranged commitments, church, but I feel like I’m failing in the areas that really do matter much. Being a wife, spending time with my Hubby and dog, taking a few moments for myself, exercising, being a general pleasant person. All of these have fallen by the wayside.

I haven’t cooked all month, so last night I worked on assembling a crock-pot meal I could pop in the fridge that night and then pop in the crock pot this morning. Except, who forgot to plug in the crock pot? Oh yeah. I haven’t cooked in a month and my first attempt is a total, utter failure. A rut indeed.

I went to a Woman’s Retreat with my church Friday and Saturday, and that gave me a nice, healthy dose of perspective.

11I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

Yes, I have always heard “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me,” but I never really knew much about the context, or thought about it in conjunction with the preceding verses. Paul is talking about having been in prison, having been close to death, and yet he is able to overcome all of that and be pleased, the orignal Greek that was translated as content, because of Christ.

Um yeah. Earth to me.

