Its a two-for-one book review today!

covers

Photo Credit.

I picked up these two Young Adult Fantasy/Sci-Fi books by Suzanne Collins from my local library after hearing great things about them on a couple of different book blogs. I LOVE THEM! These are the type of books you sit down to read, and then what feels like 15 minutes later is really an hour and you’ve read 100 pages. They just draw you in and you cannot. stop. reading. I read both of these over two days; I finished one and jumped right into the next one!

Catching Fire is the sequal to The Hunger Games, and I don’t want to give anything away about that plot, but the basic idea in both novels is that in the future, after the United State has been distroyed, there are 12 “districts” across the country ruled by a “Capitol”. To control the districts, the capitol hosts a yearly Hunger Games, where a boy and a girl from each district must come and fight to the death (24 children, ages 12 to 18 in all). The last person left alive wins a year’s supply of food for everyone in their distric and a lifetime of luxery. Enter our heroine Katniss, who, to protect her sister, finds herself volunteering for the games, and somewhat unwilling allied with the boy chosen from her district against the other competetors in the Hunger Games.

Yes, the plot of The Hunger Games reminds me of other stories I’ve read before, but I loved the element of romance, and Katniss’s quest to figure out who she is and who she wants to be. Plus, even though the general premise of the book was one I was familiar with, they way events unfolded was not something I could predict! I love being on the edge of my seat, and both of these books did that!

There is also a charming innocence about these books. Yes, Katniss’s life is hard, and the life of a competitor in the Hunger Games is a desperate, bloody one, but Katniss charmed me. Her efforts to remain true to who she was no matter what happened during the games spoke to her depth of character, and I also identified with her turmoil over who to trust, or really, if she could trust anyone. There was just something about this combo that gave this book a lovely feeling.

Suzanne Collins has a third novel in the works, and I would recommend you run to your local library to grab these, fall in love, and then settle in to wait for the next book. I really, really highly recomend these!

