I had a great time with my whirlwind “long” weekend. We visited my parents for the weekend and attended a wedding, and since it takes 8 hours to get to my parents, we left early Friday morning. When we arrived, I helped my mom with some of the finishing touches on dinner (BBQ ribs — my mom makes the BEST!), and then we headed to the beach for a short walk.

DSC04046

We passed two houses my dad designed, and drove by a third. I wish this photo came out better, the houses are truly fabulous, but hopefully this gives you an idea.

DSC04047

When we finished at the beach, we headed back to the house to play two rounds of Apples to Apples. I totally kicked butt both times, but I had an advantage — I’m the child of two players and married to the other, so I should know everyone well!

Saturday I went to the Mellow Mushroom to meet up with my friend Joanna, who I haven’t seen in about two years (I think!). She’s been in the Middle East for the past year, and it was fun to hear some of her stories of life there, including adventures in finding bathrooms. My favorite story though was about an exercise class she and some of her friends took where the instructor literally sat on one of her friends, yelling at her, telling her she wasn’t working hard enough. I had a great time catching up with her, but just two hours wasn’t enough. Joanna is home, working to raise money for her next year there. You should check out her adventures here!

Then, I headed off to meet my parents to help decorate the reception venue. The bride’s father passed away two years ago, and as my mother is good friend’s with her mother, she knew this would be an exciting, but difficult time for the family. She volunteered to do whatever was needed, and this was one of the MANY things she helped with. We draped tulle on the railings, set out centerpieces, and measured to make sure flower arrangements would fit where we wanted.

DSC04053

I ADORED the centerpieces! Can you believe these candles were handcreated especially for the reception, and were monogrammed on BOTH sides!? Some lovely volunteers also glued the pearls onto the bottom of the hurricanes. Very elegant, but not overdone.

DSC04063

The wedding itself was FABULOUS! I teared up in several places, which is very, very rare for me. A long time ago, the bride and I were in a Bible study together, and I remember her telling us that after their family had gone to a cousin’s wedding she heard her parents talking, and her dad crying because he was so afraid he wouldn’t be able to see his daughter get married.

They had a beautiful arrangement of white lilies in his memory, and a note in the program that said how much he had influenced his daughter’s life and how he was especially missed on this special day.

DSC04061

But the bride looked beautiful, and the groom did all the crying. We were responsible for taking down the candelabra and getting the arrangements to the reception, so we hung around during the photo taking where I snapped the above photo through a window.

DSC04055

The reception was fun, and the food was fantastic and plentiful. I cringe just thinking about all the food I ate! It was great to see several families I’ve known since birth, and in general had a great time. But, I was tuckered out and we left shortly before the bride and groom did.

DSC04070

The drive home was uneventful, but we did realize we pass an IKEA on the way down, so we’re planning on making a stop the next time we head that way! I’ve never been to an IKEA, so I’m super stoked!

DSC04072

I’ll leave you with my new favorite photo of my slobbery Pup.

