wfmwbannerkristenYou’ve heard it here all this week — I am SICK. And while I have been practically on my death bed here on the sofa (there’s a lovely butt imprint at my “spot”), Hubby had been taking care of me. This has included several runs to the grocery store, phone calls, schlepping my stuff to church, cooking my meals, cleaning the kitchen, and yes, cleaning my puke. Let’s just say it hasn’t been a stellar weekend for him (or me either, but I’m trying to make this post not about me).

I was out of town last weekend, we were both around, but working Monday, and early Tuesday morning Hubby left to go out of town for work and returned on Friday, which marked the beginning of my illness. Yeah, we haven’t seen much of each other in a week and a half.

Hubby asked me last night, after flipping through our couple’s Bible study (Dream Team), if I thought our marriage had “hit a rut.” I responded with a hasty no, but Hubby stated, “well, this past week has been pretty boring.” I conceded to that, but I thought that the past week was a pretty poor barometer of our marriage. Hubby agreed, and I continued getting ready for bed.

But, as I’ve thought about it, I can see how easy it would be to fall into thinking that you’re just having an “off week.” Then, an “off week” becomes “that’s just how we are,” and before you know it, you have a stagnant, boring marriage.

I spent a TON of time with Hubby this weekend, but I didn’t talk to him, I didn’t consider his needs. To be honest, it would be easy to live this way most of the time because it doesn’t take any effort. I know this doesn’t come as a shock to anyone who’s been married several years, but this was the very first time I’ve really the reality of what a lack of effort can do to a marriage. So, what works for me this week is remembering, each day, to put effort into serving, loving, and communicating with my Hubby.

To learn more about what works for others, Check out We Are THAT Family.

