Wednesday was Hubby’s birthday! Happy 26th honey! Because his birthday was in the middle of the week, and because I’m going out of town this weekend, we celebrated with Hubby’s family (parents, brother and sister-in-law) Saturday.

Hubby’s family all went in together and bought him a three burner gas grill! He’s wanted one for a while now, so he is really excited. I can’t wait to grill kabobs, veggies, hamburgers, and, of course, steaks! Is it spring yet?

I got Hubby our new media cabinet and Indian Jones and the Last Crusade. And I made him a cake. His request was for “chocolate, chocolate and chocolate.” So I made him this cake, but used dark chocolate cocoa. Its a tasty, moist and easy cake — I liked it better than the cake I made last year, which required melting chocolate and all kinds of stuff.

dsc03644I had a hard time splitting the two layers in half, so I’m obviously not going to be invited to the Food Network anytime soon. Good thing life’s not all about looks, right? And icing hides a multitude of sins.

dsc03645See? You can’t tell where the giant crack in the top layer is, can you? Gotta love a rich, chocolaty icing!

