worksformeBefore I got married and moved to my new hometown, I had lived in the same town my whole life; my library card still had my five year old scrawl on back. I grew up in a relativly small town that had one library. The county had several other libraries you could request books from, but only one serviced the town. Because of that, it stocked just about every kind of book from classics, to fantasy, to best sellers, to Christian books, to biographies, well, you get the idea.

In new town, not so much. We have about 7 or 8 libraries that service the entire town. I happen to live closest to the “Headquarters” library, which isn’t very large and doesn’t stock quite as wide a range of books. I mean, if a library in a town that claims to be souther doesn’t have ANY Flannery O’Conner, then something is wrong. Needless to say, I’m when I go looking for a particular book, I don’t usually find it. Also, when I go, I’m usually pressed for time, so I don’t want to spend a long time looking for something that’s probably not there.

Enter my library’s online card catologe. Not only can I check to se if my closest library carries the book I want, but I can reserve any book online. Its great! Usually I request two to three books at a time, then wait for a phone calling telling me my books have come it. Usually I get as many calls as books I reserved, so I wait until I know all the books are in, then swing by to pick them up. While I’m there, I might check out the new arrivals section for something that looks interesting, but it takes me about 10 minutes max to get the books I just can’t wait to read.

I know this works for other ladies who have young children who need to suprvise their children and help them pick out books rather than brose for themselves. Timing a library visit with the arival of mom’s books can make sure everyone leaves the library happy! Oh, and your library will even hold a book they carry for you, in addition to getting books they don’t have as well.

Requesting library books online really works for me. For more tips, tricks and great ideas, check out Rocks in my Dryer.

