After we got back from visiting my parents for Christmas, I decided to break in my new food processor and make pretzel chicken! Hubby had requested this for his birthday almost a year ago, when I didn’t have a food processor. This recipe is good, but not good enough to use a spoon and baggie to crush the pretzels to bread-crumb consistency. With a food processor? Easy! Fun!

dsc03451

Get your brand new food processor out of the box! Be sure to wash the blade and container first.

dsc03452

Plug in food processor. Try to turn it on. Read directions when it won’t turn on. Lear how to work food processor!

dsc03453

Place a couple of handfuls of pretzels in. I kind of eyeballed this. I crushed what you see here, and then the same amount again to cover 10 chicken tenders. My food processor holds three cups, which is probably what I ended up using.

dsc03454

Chop until most of the pretzels are at bread crumb consistency. Feel free to leave some a little larger for an extra crunch!

dsc03455

Use tongs to dip chicken first in a bowl with one egg (or egg whites), and then into crushed pretzels. I added a little bit of garlic powder and parsley to my mixture, just because I like them. Feel free to use this plain, or add whatever spices float your boat. Another fun thing to do would be to use honey mustard in place of egg. I have done this dijon mustard and really love it! I’m not as big of a honey mustard fan, but this would definetly be great for dipping fans.

dsc03456

Once you’ve breaded the chicken, it will look like this. Cook in an oven pre-heated to 350 F and cook for 20 min, or until done.

dsc03458

I served my chicken with broccoli and rice. One thing to note about this recipe is that the pretzel coating got a little bit damp when reheated. This does freeze well, so you could make a whole batch and then cook portion sizes at a time, or you may want to try the “fake frying” method of spraying each piece with a bit of cooking spray, turning at 10 minutes and spraying the other side for crispier chicken.

