It occurred to me the other day that I’ve never shared my name here, not even when I posted a few semi-interesting facts about myself. Yikes! I think I have occasionally left comments places as “MC @ Longbrake Living,” or something similar, but have never divulged the secret of my actual name. Which is strange, because I love my name — Mary-Carolyn.

One of the reasons I love my name is that I’ve never met anyone with the same name. Sure people might have Mary as a first name and Carolyn as a second, but no one I’ve met has ever been called by both. I’m sure they’re out there, but I don’t know anything about them, and I like having a unique, one-of-a-kind name.

The other reason I really like my name is because I was named after my grandmothers. My dad’s mom is Mary and my mom’s mom is Carolyn. Evidently though, there was some confusion among family members shortly after my birth as to what I was going to be called. I’ve found notes congratulating my parents on the birth of “little Carolyn” or “Mary,” each side of the family using the name of their mother or sister, thinking that name ought to take precedence.

As the oldest grandchild on both sides of my family, I have always been called by both names, despite of the fact that Mary was my first name and Carolyn was my middle. I say “was” because when I finally changed my name after getting married, I had the Social Security office change it to “Mary-Carolyn” as my full first name, and dropped the whole middle name thing all together.

Do you have an interesting story surrounding your name? I had a friend who’s grandmother protested her parents naming her Amanda, because “everyone named Amanda is called Mandi, and everyone named Mandi is a whore. There’s no way my granddaughter will be a whore!”

