* Sung to the tune of “Oh Dreidel, Dreidel, Dreidel.”

Sunday, Hubby and I bought a new sofa! This is our first major furniture purchase since we got married a year and a half ago. Ours is a custom order, so it won’t arrive until late January or early February, but when it does, it should look something like this, only in a darker shade of khaki.

ss134_1

I never, in a million years, thought I would purchase any sort of sectional sofa! But, when I looked at how we wanted to set up our room, this seemed to make the most sense. Our TV will be on the wall perpendicular to our fireplace, and I really wanted the fireplace to remain the focal point, and also have the option of facing the fire for those nights I want to curl up with Hubby. So a sectional it was! But then, the smallest sectional available didn’t quite fit our space. Well, it fit, but if you wanted to walk and had wider hips, well, you might not make it into the dining room!

So, we went with the sofa/chaise combo. Enough room for Hubby and I to both stretch out our legs AT THE SAME TIME! We’ve been living with a love-seat, and if one of us wanted to stretch out, our legs had to be on the other person. Soon, we will actually be able to LAY DOWN. Be still my beating heart.

Still, I worry the sofa won’t be what I want. Not because I think I won’t like it, but because we spent so much money and we can’t return it if we don’t like. Knowing you don’t have the ability to change your mind makes me a lot more nervous that I will want to change my mind.

