Have you ever had Russian tea? I hadn’t until this morning, and its WONDERFUL. I also hear its called Spiced Tea. Whatever you call it — try it! Our Pastor’s wife gave each secretary a jar of her homemade mix when we were at her home for lunch yesterday. Evidently, it has Tang in it. Now, I have NEVER liked Tang, but this is just fabulous!

Here’s a recipe I found:

  • 2 cups orange-flavored drink mix (e.g. Tang)
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 1/4 cup instant tea powder
  • 3/4 cup lemon-flavored instant tea powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground cloves

In a large bowl, combine orange drink mix, sugar, tea powder, cinnamon and cloves. Mix well and store in an airtight container. To serve, put 3 teaspoons of mix in a mug. Stir in 1 cup boiling water. Adjust to taste.

Oh, and apparently, each serving only has 32 calories! That’s good news more me since I’ll probably have another cup before the day is out. Now, if only all those cookies I’ve eaten today only had 23 calories…

