This past Friday, Hubby and I went to the 1st Annual Tacky Christmas Sweater Potluck hosted by some friends from Sunday School. I was very much into the tacky (and fun) aspect of the party, but Hubby was not. He did wear a musical tie, which was pretty tacky, but he wasn’t into hunting for the *perfect* Christmas sweater. Bummer. We did, however, both enjoy the food and talking to friends.

 

By far, my favorite part of the night was when I got to cuddle a less-than-a -month old baby. Be still my beating heart! All my short life I have longed to be a parent. The longing only intensified after I met “my” baby in an African orphanage — I so long for that feeling of motherly love again. As Hubby and I talked to the mother of this new baby, she encouraged us to wait “until you’re ready, spend time with each other, do spontaneous things, just the two of you” before we have children. But, how do we know when you’re ready? How do you wait for something you’ve always wanted?

 

Originally we thought we’d be “ready” in the begining of 2009, now, we both think we’d be better of waiting until mid-way through ’09 before getting serious about a baby. I know this is the right decision for us personally and financially, but I still long for that day…

