If you’ve been on Pinterest, you’ve probably seen several different recipes for homemade cheese crackers. I had seen several, and pinned two, but waited a long time until I decided to actually make them myself.

They were super easy and super tasty. If you’re on the fence of making these, go make them now! Chances are you already have everything you need to make them in your fridge and pantry.

I’ve decided to post yet another cheese cracker recipe because I ended up using a combination of the two recipes I pinned, and some info that I was curious about was missing from the recipes I read.

So, here’s what you need to make easy, delicious cheese crackers that will be gone in about 3 days:

  • 3/4 flour (I used a mixture of white whole wheat and all purpose, anything would work)
  • 1 1/2 cups cheddar (6 ounces), can be pre-shredded or cubed
  • 4 Tablespoons butter (these turned out pretty buttery, so I would recommend using 3 Tablespoons. I think they would still be pretty tasty.)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon water
  • Sea salt to sprinkle

Combine flour, cheese, butter and salt in food processor. The amounts listed above will meet a three cup food processor capacity. Blend until you have what looks like course sand.

Add 1 T water and blend until dough forms. This will take about 2 minutes and you may have to stop and push the dough down into the processor to make sure everything incorporates.

Wrap your dough in plastic wrap and chill 20 min. This may not be necessary, but I think chilled dough is much easier to work with in general.

Divide dough into two or three portions to make it easier to work with. Roll dough between two sheets of wax paper until about 1/4 or 1/8 inch thick.

DSC01966

This is how thin I rolled my crackers; they could have been thinner.

Cut into squares with pizza cutter or into shapes with small cookie cutter. If you made squares, you can put a hole in them with a toothpick to prevent them from getting too puffy and look more like cheeze-its. If you do shapes, don’t bother.

DSC01968

Sprinkled with salt, ready for the oven.

Sprinkle with sea salt and bake at 350 for 8-12 minutes. I cooked mine about 12, but could have cooked them longer for more crispy crackers since mine weren’t rolled very thin. Just check them periodically after 8 minutes and check for crispiness. I thought they might get more crispy as the cooled, but they stay pretty much the same in terms of crispness as they cool.

Ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

Cool and eat. Store in airtight container.

I will be making these again, and when I do, I’ll makeĀ  at least a double batch.

