DSC01961

*I took a picture for this week, but can’t upload it until I finish running a program to detect duplicate photos in iPhoto. At the rate everything is going, it might be a few days until the photo is up.*

How Far Along: 19 weeks

Baby’s Size: a large tomato – about 6 inches

Weight Gain: Somewhere between 8 and 9 pounds, not totally sure this week.

Symptoms: Heartburn. It’s been pretty terrifically awful as well, waking me up in the middle of the night, making me nauseous, and I can’t seem to figure out what triggers it. Or, rather, everything seems to trigger it. Even toast. And milk. Zantac seems to keep it at bay now, as long as I take it every night. If I forget to take it, I wake up with heartburn. Also, breakouts all along my jawline and chin. I remember breaking out with C, but very early on. This time, the situation is getting pretty bad. Anyone know of something, besides a basic facewash, I can use to help clear this up?

Exercise: Nada.

Clothes: One or two regular shirts are still working as well as a few camis, otherwise I’m wearing super comfy maternity clothes.

Cravings/Aversions: Attempting to avoid anything that gives me heartburn, and no real cravings I can think of this week.

Movement: Nothing remotely consistent, I can go days without feeling anything. What I do feel is still that weird crawling feeling.

Gender: In the beginning, I was so sure this baby is a boy, and really wanted another boy. Now I’m not so sure on either of those counts. At 12 weeks, the ultrasound tech guessed the baby was another boy, and even though I know that’s just a guess, I’m finding it hard to think this baby won’t be a boy, even though part of me really wants to buy adorable girly baby things.

Worries: Just the same old same old. Some freak-outs, but feeling less like thing will go horribly wrong all the time.

Milestones: Baby’s brain is developing areas for smell, taste, vision, touch and hearing. It’s possible baby can even hear voices this week.

Best Moment of the Week: This is more like an ode to my doctor’s office, but on the way home from our Christmas travels, I got this horrible pain in my left side. I’m not kidding when I say it was excruciating and would rate it on a pain scale with contractions. I never felt contractions with C until my water broke, but what I did feel was an exercise-type cramp on my left side. So, I was a little worried about both the severity of the pain and that fact, though I felt like the pain was above my uterus. So, I called the doctor on call in labor and delivery. The doctor on call wasn’t my doctor, but another doctor in the practice. He was so kind, asked me lots of questions, and reassured me that nothing terribly bad was going on. He did, however, say if things changed or if I continued to feel like things just weren’t right to call and come in before my next appointment.